On the Bandwagon

Hi Friends,

Now that the weather is warmer, I have been enjoying smoothies for breakfast almost every morning.  I was intrigued by recipes for overnight smoothies I spotted on Michelle and Emily’s blog and knew I had to give it a try.

Blackberry Pie Overnight Smoothie

- 1/4 cup rolled oats

- 1 TB chia seeds

- 1 tsp cherry pie spice

- 1 cup unsweetened almond milk

- 1/2 a frozen banana

- 1/2 cup frozen blackberries

- unsweetened coconut for topping

- Combine oats, chia seeds, cherry pie spice, and 2/3 cup almond milk in a jar.  Shake to combine and leave in the refrigerator overnight.

- The next morning, place oat mixture, frozen banana, blackberries, and 1/3 cup almond milk in the blender and blend until smooth.  Top with coconut.

I was very pleased with how this turned out.  The oats gave it a thick, creamy texture.  The cherry pie was an awesome addition.  I took home a sample from the store.  I haven’t seen a cherry pie spice blend in the grocery store before so I am not sure what they typically contain.  The one from work had plenty of cardamom which I enjoy.  This will be a fun recipe to experiment with throughout the summer!

I picked up The Perfect Scoop at the library last night.  My head is swimming with creative ice cream ideas this morning.  I may have to start a batch before heading to work this afternoon :)

Any great smoothie or ice cream ideas to share?!?!

Later,

Kate

8 Responses

  1. I think I would actually like this version better – the fruit is a great addition!

  2. Ooh, overnight! I like the idea of the oats for texture.

  3. Those oats look SO good!! My overnight oats never turn out anything like that. Yum!

  4. Cherry pie spice sounds so delicious!

    I’ve tried making the overnight smoothies but I never added so much fruit — I bet that tasted really refreshing!

  5. Wow those overnight oats look so yummy and refreshing :D

  6. YUM! Blackberry pie?! I’m in.

  7. Oooh – a fruit version – looks so yummy! Try to deconstruct the cherry pie spice….

    I’m loving the staying power of these smoothies. They keep me full for a few hours.

  8. overnight smoothies? Ill have to try this! I have only heard of overnight oats!

    I love frozen blueberries, yogurt, soy milk, spinach, and ice. Sometimes Ill add protein powder for more protein. Its delicious and my son even likes it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

