Fun With Sweet Potatoes

Hi Friends,

Thank you for your well wishes yesterday.  I am half convinced that my sickies were attributed to the fact that Art likes to leave the heat up really high in our apartment all night long.  I doubt there is any medical evidence behind this, but I am sure sweating all night long can’t be good for you.  Right?!  After more rest yesterday morning, I was feeling better by lunch time. 

Ok, on to the food!  I attempted sweet potato falafels in the fall but wasn’t super pleased with how they turned out.  This second attempt proved to be much better.  Can you still call them falafel’s if they aren’t ball shaped?

Sweet Potato Falafels – Round 2

- 1 cup chick peas

- 3/4 cup baked sweet potato

- 1 TB olive oil

- 1 heaping TB garlic hummus

- 1 tsp cumin

- 1/4 tsp cayenne

- 2 big handfuls of cilantro

- 3 TB cornmeal

- Combine chickpeas through cilantro in a large bowl.  Mash all ingredients together until well combine.  (I used my immersion blender but a potato masher would work as well.)

- Stir in cornmeal until mixture thickens up and isn’t quite so sticky.

- Form into patties and cook over medium high heat in a greased skillet.

I was left with five, flavorful falafel patties.  The cornmeal added a nice crispy texture that previous attempt was lacking.  Art suggested using mango chutney for dippage.  This was a the perfect accompaniment.  I would definitely make this recipe again.

I saved about a 1/4 cup of sweet potato to play with in a smoothie.  I saw this recipe on the lovely Lori’s blog and was inspired!

Sweet Cranberry Smoothie

- 1/4 cup baked sweet potato

- 1/3 cup frozen cranberries

- 1/2 a small frozen banana

- 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder

- cinnamon and cardamom

- 3/4 cup Unsweetened So Delicious Coconut Milk

- Combine all ingredients in blender.  Mix until creamy.

YUM!  I loved this smoothie.  Topped with some gluten free granola and flax seed it made for a great breakfast.  Plus it was just so pretty to look at.  The color was a gorgeous shade of salmon that my crappy, flashy photo does nothing to fully capture.  Thank you Lori for the inspiration!

What is your favorite way to eat a sweet potato?

Later,

Kate

17 Responses

  1. sweet tater in a smoothie!? ive never tried that.. that sounds awesome!
    i had the best combo yesterday: baked sweet tater, cottage cheese, cinnamon, sf syrup, almond butter- HEAVENLY!

  2. I love sweet potatoes. In fact, I just bought some the other day. I want to try that smoothie-it looks delicious!

  3. So glad to hear that you’re feeling better! I love sweet potato fries, but your falafel recipe looks like a winner.

  4. YUM! I love falafel, especially with sweet taters!!

  5. Love love sweet potatoes! I do need to venture out beyond simply baking up fries, though. That falafel looks awesome!

  6. I’ve never tried falafels but yours look amazing!! And yay for feeling better :D

  7. Wow! Both of those recipes sound delicious! I love sweet potatoes, cranberries, cardamom, falafel, and So Delicious coconut milk, so I scored big time today. :)

  8. So excited for the falafel recipe, it sounds amazing!!!

  9. Oh deliciousness in a glass! Your smoothie sounds incredible! I love that you paired the sweet p with cranberries and cardamom. I bet it tasted great!

    And for that falafel- wow! I LOVVVVEEEEEEEEEEEEEE falafels! But adding the sweet potato is new to me! Yum.

  10. Sweet potato falafel!?! Yes please! Love the recipe and can’t wait to try it out;) I also love your blog, just thought I should let you know that! I’m obsessed with brekkie too:)

  11. Never has sweet potato in a smoothie! Sounds and looks yummy….

    Have you tried lentil cakes? They are yummy as well. I like them better than black bean burgers.

  12. dude, i do not discriminate. falafels are good of any shape.

    with sweet potatoes, i’ve only tried making them as fries. they tasted all right but were black on the outside. (yeah…cooking is not my forte.) hope you’re having a great weekend, glad to hear you’re feeling better! ;)

  13. I like to eat sweet potatoes for dessert! Just baked, topped with butter and brown sugar and a tiny drizzle of maple syrup. Bad, bad, bad… :) But oh so good! I am so inspired to try making falafel after seeing that recipe. Do you think I could just use a food processor to mix it all up?

  14. MMM! I love sweet potatoes, so this sounds fantastic!

  15. Sweet potato fries, of course. :D
    And also, plain roasted or BBQ sweet potato. :-)

    Maybe you should just call the “falafels” burgers?

  16. Yum to the sweet potato falafels. I like my sweet potatoes baked in the oven or sauteed in bacon grease.

    As to the temperature/sickness thing: my mom (a doctor) vigilantly maintains that there IS a connection and having a higher temperature in the house can make you more prone to certain colds or bacterias or something…

  17. [...] Sweet Potato Falafel are pretty yummy too! [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

