Nonpareil Cookies

Hi Friends,

My snarffles from yesterday are definitely a bit worse.  After going out for Pho for last night and drinking a big old mug of tea with honey, my throat started to feel a bit better.  Woke up this morning feeling just as yucky :(  Right now I am trying to contemplate if I call in sick to work.  I don’t feel super awful but I definitely don’t feel well.  And you do really want to buy food from a woman with a runny nose and a scratchy man voice?!  But we are so busy….   ARG!

Anyway, in our baking marathon last weekend my mom and I made my childhood favorite cookie.  I’ve seen version of this recipe posted under other names other places.  In case you need or want another, here is my family’s version of Nonpareil Cookies.

Nonpareil Cookies

1/4 cup butter softened

1 1/4 cups sugar

1/2 cup plus 1 TB coco powder

3 TB canola oil

1 tsp vanilla

3 eggs

2 cups flour

2tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

Powdered Sugar

Nonpareil candies

Cream together butter and sugar.  Add coco powder, oil, and vanilla and mix.  Beat in eggs.  Combine flour, baking powder and salt in a separate bowl.  Add to wet ingredients and mix until combine.  Chill dough in refrigerator for 30 min.

Preheat oven to 350.  Scoop powdered sugar onto a small plate.  Roll dough into 1 inch balls and then roll in powdered sugar.  Place on baking sheet and bake for 12 min.  Remove from oven and press nonpareil into the middle of the cookie.   Cool for one min on baking sheet before removing from pan. 

We got about 50 cookies from this recipe.  I love eating the dough.  It is so fudgy and yummy.  I would always eat the edges of the cookie first and save the nonpareil for the end.  YUM YUM!

Day 16 – Vitamin C Yogurt Bowl

I had no idea what I wanted to eat for breakfast this morning when I woke up.  I must be sick as I usually know right away.  Eventually I mixed together some plain yogurt and  the left over bits of cranberry orange sauce from Monday’s waffles.  I topped with some Kashi Go Lean Crunch and ground flax.  I also ate another orange.

There you have it.  I may go back to bed for a bit and see how I feel a bit later this morning before deciding what to do about work.

Later

Kate

« »

5 Responses

  1. Sorry your not feeling well!! I am waiting to get the sniffles, I know its going to happen!! I just hope I dont have it for christmas like last year! Love the cookies. They are so pretty!!

  2. Ugh, I’m still sick too (pho and tea did not cure all :( ) but now I’m thinking I may have a sinus infection…although, this is a food blog, maybe I shouldn’t be posting that on your blog?!?! Yuck! :)
    Hope you feel better.

  3. hope your feeling better, Im actually feeling like poo and drinking some tea to get better, Im just overexhausted I think!

    Loving these cookies!

  4. Hi Kate! I can’t seem to find your email address on your blog, but I just got my Secret Santa gift in the mail today and I love it. I’ve already had two pieces of that chocolate and I want a third! The soap smells great too and the mug is very cute. Thank you so much. Looking forward to reading your blog.

  5. I love massive bake-offs! So much fun. What a creative cookie! Love it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

