Gingerbread Oatmeal

Hi Friends,

After many an attempt, I think I can say that I have perfected the gingerbread oatmeal.  Wahoo!

Gingerbread Oats

- 1/3 cup rolled oats

- 1/3 cup unsweetened soymilk

- 1/2 cup water

- pinch of salt

- 1/4 tsp cardamom

- 1/2 tsp ground ginger

- 1 tsp plus a little extra molasses

- 3-4 cubes of candied ginger, chopped

- 1 TB ground flax

- Bring oats, water, soymilk, and salt to a boil in a sauce pan over high heat.  Once mixture is boiling, turn down heat to medium high and stir in spices.  Once oats reach desired consistency, remove from heat and stir in molasses, candied ginger and ground flax.

I love the spicy, molasses taste to these oats.  It is fun to come across a chunk of candied ginger while eating them.  I think pears go well with ginger so today I quartered a pear and put it cut side down in a saute pan over medium heat while my oats were cooking.  And lately I have been putting a big blog on plain yogurt on just about all my breakfasts.  It helps to make the oats creamy and is an easy way to sneak in some calcium.  What has been your favorite breakfast creation lately?

Nugget 19

Short weeks.  So technically I am working next weekend and I don’t have any vacation time but I am really excited for a Thursday reprieve from the standard work week.

Nugget 20

Deadlines.  I am so ready to turn my papers in on Monday and Tuesday.  I could edit papers forever so having a set date on which I just need to be done with them is very nice. 

Time to get moving.  Later,

Kate

7 Responses

  1. ‘Gotta give this a try! Sounds like a perfect near-Christmas morning breakfast. Love the sound of the little bits of candied ginger, too. :)

  2. Ooh wow-I forgot how much I loved gingerbread until I had gingerbread coffee yesterday. Gingerbread oatmeal sounds delicious. Oh man. Gingerbread oatmeal pancakes-I might have to work on that.

  3. Breakfast creation??? Hmmmm….haven’t had any really really good ones, but last weekend I made banana roasted with a little rum, and then pureed it with oatmeal and rolled it out into a crepe that had yogurt and walnuts inside….that was yummy

    Candied ginger…YUM! Wouldn’t that be really good with walnuts and pears with quinoa and chickpeas and grilled onions?

  4. I have probably eaten over 20 variations of oatmeal in my life and I have NEVER even though to do gingerbread. I WILL make this this week. Perfect for the holidays! And its always nice to mix it up a bit

  5. YUM! Gingerbread anything is a super weakness of mine… aka Gingerbread Lattes… Ah! ;)

    My newest and dearest breakfast creations (besides green smoothies) are sprouted quinoa, Vega protein powder (or just any protein powder), leftover squash or canned pumpkin, cinnamon, Stevia, and raisins… and whatever else sounds good. :) Easy and delicious.

  6. this sounds awesome! ya know, for the life of me i can’t find molasses in Australia, i’m not even sure they know what it is! :p

  7. [...] from my gingerbread oats, I have been really enjoying a cherry cardamom smoothie inspired a drink mix we make and sell at [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

