Hearty Oatmeal Cookies

Hi Friends,

I am had a weird chunk of time to kill yesterday before heading to class.  What do I do when I don’t know what to do?  Bake cookies of course! 

Hearty Oatmeal Cookies

- 1/4 cup butter, at room temp

- 1/4 cup plus 1 TB brown sugar

- 1/8 cup buckwheat honey

- 1 egg

- 1/2 cup whole wheat flour

- 1/2 cup spelt flour

- 1/2 tsp baking soda

-1/4 tsp baking powder

- 1/2 tsp cinnamon

- 1/2 tsp cardamom

- 1/4 tsp nutmeg

- 3/4 cup rolled oats

- 1/2 cup raisins

- Preheat oven to 350

- Cream together butter, brown sugar and honey in a large bowl.  Beat egg into butter mixture.

- In a separate bowl, whisk together flours, baking powder, baking soda, and spices.  Add to the butter and egg mixture until well combine.

- Stir in oats and raisins. 

- Drop by the heaping tablespoon onto cookie sheets and bake for 8-10 min.

This recipe made 10 medium/large cookies.  For every cookie recipe I post on the blog, I have one that doesn’t make as it turns out to be awful flop.  These are anything but!  The spice combination is exactly to my liking.  The cookies have a nice hardy texture but the addition of the spelt flour kept them chewy. 

I put 8 aside to take to a girls dinner on Friday night and left two out for Art and I to enjoy.  In the middle of class last night, I got a text from him asking if he could eat another.  The man is picky with his baked goods so I take this as a sign that the cookies truly are good :)

I just finished the best smoothie that I didn’t photograph as I wasn’t sure how it would turn out.  I blended 15 grams Vanilla Tera’s Whey (check out the company website.  very cool.  and no they aren’t paying me to say that)  , a handful of frozen cranberries, a very ripe pear, Almond Breeze, powdered ginger and 3 ice cubes.  Topped with Nature’s Path Optimum Cranberry Ginger Cereal, it made for a really yummy, fall inspired breakfast.   

What is your favorite kind of cookie?  Have any cool breakfast recommendations to share?  

Later

Kate

12 Responses

  1. Oatmeal cookies are my favorite! I think i’ll make a batch today!

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  2. Oh those oatmeal cookies look Delicious. My favorite type are actually oatmeal or peanut butter. Although right now-anything with pumpkin is good in my book. :)

  3. Those cookies look so good. My favorite cookie for sure is regular ole chocolate chip — or also a really good sugar or PB cookie. I like the “classics” :)

  4. oatmeal is def one of my favs. especially when they don’t have raisons!! your smoothie sounds interesting, i never would have thought to put a pear or ginger in mine!

  5. Favorite cookie: molasses! And ESPECIALLY in the fall!! Close second is snickerdoodle.

    I just made this crazy hazelnut pudding this morning… suuuper easy. Topped with EnviroKids coco crispies. I think you’d like it! Haha if I can remember the recipe, I’ll type it up and email it to you!

  6. yummmm! BAKE THESE FOR MEEEEE :)

  7. I love Tera’s Whey!
    I need to bake some oatmeal cookies – I have an over abundance of oatmeal right now!

  8. I do love oatmeal cookies, but I think my favorite has to be some sort with big chocolate chunks!

    I was about to suggest baked oatmeal for your breakfasts but then I remembered that you were the one who came up with that, haha. They’re amazing!

  9. Mmmm that cookie looks really good! Buckwheat honey? Never heard of it… interesting. I love oatmeal cookies… and I love baking… ;)

    Tera’s Whey protein is actually the best whey protein I’ve tried. I have only tried the vanilla but it’s good. :)

  10. Good cookies are so special in fall. This sounds like a perfect recipe. I have not done a lot of baking lately but will soon, hopefully. Cookies+tea=perfect fall evening! Yum!

  11. Oatmeal cookies are by far my favorite- they never get old! These look so yummy :)

  12. Chocolate chip peanut butter cookies are myyy fav!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

