swamp cakes

Hi friends,

The lovely Katie is hosting a give away that I really want to win!  In order to enter, we needed to create some pancake roll ups.  After discarding some obvious choices (blueberry pancakes with banana butter filling!), I came up with these guys.  Despite the shockingly green color, they are tasty!

In to my blender went to extra-large handfulls of spinach and 1/4 cup of liquid egg whites.  After mixing them up, I stirred in a 1/4 cup plus a tablespoon of Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Flour and 1 tsp baking soda.  While the pancakes were cooking, I lightly sautéed half a pink lady apple and 1/2 cup of broccoli slaw with a little cinnamon.  Once the pancakes were done cooking, I topped with mustard, a little feta, the apple broccoli mixture, and dried cranberries.   Perfect mix of sweet and savory! 

I kind of forgot about the whole “roll up” concept and made pancake tacos instead.  I should have made two bigger cakes opposed to three smaller ones to get sufficient rollage.  Katie, I hope that doesn’t disqualify me :)

Happy Saturday friends!

Kate

5 Responses

  1. Disqualified?! Are you kidding me? If I could, I would give you EXTRA entries just for the fact that they’re GREEN!! They are AWESOME!!

  2. Those sound so great! I need to try the spinach pancakes, I like it in smoothies, why not pancakes!

  3. Aright.. I know it’s probably random.org generated, but I definitely give you the prize for most creative! And *successfully* creative to boot! Lol I think we would have a lot of fun in the kitchen together :)

    I’m so excited for tomorroww!! Did you go to PFG’s meet up today? It was at The Beat coffee shop, and I’m super bummed I couldn’t go because that’s RIGHT by me, and it would have been fun to meet a bunch of other MN bloggers! I know Mellissa went – Im gonna have to ask her about it tomorrow!

  4. this is such a creative idea! love it, I bet the taco part won’t disqualify you ;)

  5. So glad you entered that contest! Those look like the ultimate sweet savory combo! ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

