Cleanse Breaking Brownies

Hi Friends,

To kick off 2012 I decided to partake in a dietary cleanse inspired by Whole Living magazine.  Since the 2nd, I have been eating fruits, veggies, nuts, and other plant based fats a long with my daily mug of coffee (there are some things I refuse to give up!).  This week, I started incorporating beans, lentils and other legumes.  After I shook the initial detox headache, I felt awesome!  My skin is clearer, my mood is better, and I have lost a few pounds. I was even able to refuse fresh salted chocolate caramel at work.

Then Wednesday happened :(

The weather went from an unseasonably warm 50 degrees to standard January-in-Minnesota temps in the teens with nasty wind chills.  BOOOOOOOO!  Guess who started craving chocolate something fierce?  The bod needed a little something to stay warm.  I got to work on google ASAP.

I wanted to bake something gluten free and with minimal amounts of sugar.  I kept running into paelo inspired brownie recipes using almond meal.  This was my first time baking with almond flour and based on these results, I think I will be doing it again.

Mochaelo Brownies

adapted from Simply Sadie Jane

1/2 cup coconut milk

1/2 cup pitted dates

1 cup dark chocolate chips

1 packet VIA ready brew instant coffee

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups almond flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

2oz chocolate covered espresso beans, coarsely chopped

- Place dates and coconut milk in a blender.  Blend until well combine and dates are broken down.

- Heat coconut milk mixture in a small sauce pan over medium heat.  Stir in chocolate chips and instant coffee.  Once smooth, remove from heat and stir in eggs.

- Add almond flour, baking soda, and chocolate covered espresso beans.  Stir until just combined and pour into an 8 inch pan.

- Bake 350 for 20-25min.

The resulting brownie was moist with a cakey consistency.  The chopped espresso bean gives a slightly crunchy texture.  I am not sure I would add those again.  They were still sitting around from a Christmas gift and I wanted to use them up.  Additional chocolate chips would be better for next time.

Any other good almond flour recipes to share?

Later,

Kate

One Response

  1. Mmm… those brownies look divine! Paleo brownies are actually my favorite kind– they always seem more “fudgy” than traditional ones.

    I made some Shortbread cookies a couple weeks ago using almond flour, and they turned out SO WELL, even with only 3 ingredients!! I highly recommend trying them. :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

