Guess What I Did?!

Hi Friends,

I checked out The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz from the library last Tuesday.  I have had ice cream ideas on the brain ever since.  The man has some awesome flavor combinations and sweet ideas for mix ins and sauces. 

As some of you who have been reading the blog for a while now, I have been attempting to create a gooey ice cream a la Ben and Jerry’s to no avail.  It has been driving my batty.  I am pleased to announce that with the help of Mr Lebovitz, I have finally achieved swirlage!!!!  Following his simple instructions, I was able to create a lovely frozen yogurt.

Honey Swirled Vanilla Frozen Yogurt  — adapted from David Lebovitz

- 4 cups plain whole milk frozen yogurt 

- 1/2 cup vanilla sugar

- 1/2 cup plus 1 TB sugar

- 1/2 TB vanilla extract

- 1/3 cup honey

- Whisk together yogurt, sugars and vanilla extract in a large bowl until well combined.  Place mixture in refrigerator for at least 1 hour.

- Mix yogurt according to ice cream maker instructions. 

- Pour 1/3 of honey on the bottom of the frozen yogurt storage container.  Place 1/3 frozen yogurt on top and lightly swirl with a spoon.  Continue with remaining honey and frozen yogurt.  Allow to freeze for at least an hour before serving.

Success!  The honey was pretty lightly colored so you can’t really see it in the photos but I assure you it is there.  I can’t believe I didn’t think of this technique before.  It almost seems too easy.  The fro yo has stood up nicely in the freezer too.  I almost reduced the sugar as it sounded like a lot but it really does help in not causing the dessert to get too hard in the freezer.

 

What new skills have you learned lately?  I am dreaming of future creations that put my new found skills to use.  Stay tuned :)

Later

Kate

12 Responses

  1. Honey + vanilla frozen yogurt sounds so good!

  2. Oh gosh. Sounds so good!! Is that book worth picking up? When I get my ice cream maker I am going to need ideas! ;)

  3. I want to add bacon to that…that’s what I am learning, how to selectively tell different types of proscuitto

  4. Yum, your ice cream creations are the best! We registered for an ice cream attachment to the mixer…can’t wait!

  5. Mmmm. I love all your ice cream flavors :D

  6. Woohoo!! I’d love to make my own ice cream or even banana soft serve one day! Looks delicious!

  7. Stop teasing me…I KNOW I need to finally buy an ice cream maker already. Gosh.

  8. What kind of ice cream maker do you use? You may have already posted it….

  9. David Lebovitz has the best ice cream/fro-yo recipes! When I first started making frozen yogurt a couple years ago, Fage, Chobani, etc weren’t available near me and DL taught me the trick of straining regular yogurt to get the final result extraaa creamy. Yum! Thanks for sharing :)

    -Paige

  10. How fun! This looks so refreshing for those 100 degree days. Except now its 60. What the heck is going on in this crazy state!?

  11. Everything about it from the name (love) to the looks of the ice cream are perfect. I always know where to go for my ice cream fix ;) *points to you*

  12. I bought my bf that same book for Valentines Day lol :D He has an ice cream machine so I thought it was appropriate :D That honey fro-yo looks amazing

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

