Bad Blogger

Hi Friends,

I mentioned the a grilled cheese party in my post last Friday and promised a post on said party.  Well, my friends came and went and as I was loading the dishwasher I noticed that I had neglected to move my camera off the microwave, my designated “put-the-camera-here-so-you-remember-to-take-pictures” spot.  GAH!  I get so wrapped up in talking to my friends and other hosting duties that I totally forget to document the experience.  Does anyone else do this?

The party was super fun and my girlfriends seemed to enjoy it.  I went to the co-op and bought a five different small chunks of cheese from the cheese end bin.  I hit up the neighborhood Great Harvest and bought three different half loaves of bread.  The girls each came with a different ingredient to jazz up the grilled cheese.  We had pesto, jam, apples, tomato, avocado, and caramelized onions.  Everyone made a sandwich and cut it into piece to share with each other.

The leftovers made for a nice Sunday night dinner so you will be provided with some visual aids of what the food looked like:)

Raw veggies and homemade olive hummus for aps.

Grilled cheese!  This one contained horseradish havarti, tomato, and caramelized onion.

Green bean and Sweet Corn Salad with Summer vinaigrette from the Clean Food cookbook.

Sparkling Strawberry Lemonade.   This actually had vodka added to it on Friday night but being that it is Sunday night after a slightly boozey, carb filled weekend I decided to do without tonight ;)

The only thing missing is the yummy triple berry cobbler my friend Anne brought for dessert and the smiling faces of my girlfriends.  We sat picnicked on the floor of my apartment and caught up on life.  A very nice way to spend the evening.

What are your favorite theme party activities?  Any that have been total flops?!

Later

Kate

11 Responses

  1. I love that you had a grilled cheese party! That sounds like so much fun.

    And I forget to take pictures all the time — and usually I have my camera with but realize after the fact that I should have been using it!

  2. That grilled cheese looks SUPER good..I have to remind myself to take pics, haha! I’m not great either ;)

  3. I don’t think forgetting to take photos makes you bad blogger. I think it means you are a balanced blogger who lives her life so she has something to blog about. Don’t know if that makes sense, but your blog is not your life. It’s a way to show your life….if you feel like it. :)

  4. Looks like a fun get-together! Anything with carmelized onions is usually pretty darn good. I’m not sure that I have a fav party theme, but I know I prefer themed parties. Themes make such lovely ice-breakers/conversation pieces!

  5. I forget to take pictures all the time when I have people over. It’s so hard to host, photograph and take time to enjoy the fun too :) I am terrible at themed party ideas, but love, love, love your grilled cheese idea! All those add-ins sound awesome!

  6. I love that idea Kate! How fun…hmmm, might need to incorporate that into camp somehow.

  7. Omg on the boozy strawberry lemonade, I can sooo get down on that!

  8. This sounds like the best theme party ever. Seriously, make your own grilled choice. I cannot think of anything better.

  9. Ok, that is obviously supposed to be grilled cheese, not grilled choice. Silly Caronae.

  10. Wow that grilled cheese does look extra yummy!! And strawberry lemonade is one of my favorite indulgences! ;D

  11. That’s my kind of party – grilled cheese and spiked lemonades! Glad you had a fun night with your girlfriends!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

