Oh My!

Hi Friends,

Some things I know:

- I like ice cream

- My friend Gwen and I were obsessed with Ben and Jerry’s Marsha Marsha Mallow (now known as Smores) ice cream post college.  The graham swirls did me in.

- Ben and Jerry have mastered the art of gooey ice cream swirls.

- This was perhaps my finest batch of ice cream to date.

- Sarah’s Graham-azing Peanut Butter sounded like it would be lovely for swirling in ice cream.

- I saw this recipe on Oh She Glows and thought it sounded awesome but a little fussy to roll out all those tiny dough balls. 

- I have not yet mastered gooey ice cream swirls but I can roll out tiny dough balls and make a decent batch of ice cream.  (Plus it is vegan and gluten free too!)

Banana and Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Ice Cream

- 15oz can full fat coconut milk

- 15oz can light coconut milk

- 2 TB arrowroot powder

- 4 large ripe bananas cut into chunks

- 3/4 cup brown sugar

- Grahamazing PB dough balls  (recipe bellow)

- Dissolve 2 TB of arrowroot powder in 1/4 cup light coconut milk.  Stir well and set aside.

- Over medium high heat, combine bananas brown sugar and a tablespoon of full fat coconut milk.  Heat until brown sugar becomes bubbly and bananas begin to break down. 

- Lower temperature to medium low heat and add remain coconut milk.  Stir until well combined.

- Remove from heat.  Use an immersion blender to fully  break down any remaining chunks of banana and create a smooth mixture.  Stir in dissolved arrowroot powder.   Place in refrigerator until cool.

While the ice cream base was cooling, I got to work on what was supposed to be the pb graham swirl.  The mixture was too thick and I was out of peanut butter.  Rather than a swirl I decided so to go for a dough balls.  Thanks Sarah for the awesome idea.

Grahamazing Peanut Butter Dough Balls

- 2/3 a package of Kinnikinnicks Vegan and Gluten Free Graham Crackers

- 3/4 cup peanut butter

- 2 TB agave

- Place all ingredients in a food processor.  Process until uniform texture and consistency.  Roll into bite sized balls.  Place in an airtight container and freeze until ready to make ice cream.   

I simply mixed the ice cream according to directions for the Kitchen Aid.  After about 12 mins of mixing, I threw in the dough balls.  I didn’t stop the Kitchen Aid this time as the last few times I have done that I have had a hard time getting to start up again.  I literally stood next to the mixer and threw the dough balls in one by one.

Results?  Awesome!  Looking at the ingredients, how can it not be good?!  It is not the most photogenic ice cream but it definitely makes up for it in taste.

Getting in the zone for my 7 hours of silence retreat today.  We’ll see how that goes :)

Later

Kate

17 Responses

  1. I am honored to have made your blog! Your recipes look delicious! Now I just need to muster up the courage to try making ice cream….

  2. Omg this looks amazing! Gotta start putting the ice cream maker to work :D

  3. Ohmygoshohmygosh this looks fantastic!! The cookie dough bits are my favorite part of cookie dough ice cream..but make them into graham crackers and turn the ice cream itself into a peanut buttery treat and holy cow. I want and ice cream maker sooo badly right now.

  4. Oh lord I love cookie dough bits — this looks delicious Kate!

  5. that looks absolutely INCREDIBLE!!!

  6. omg amazing!! that recipe sounds so incredible! I wish I had an ice cream maker so I could make this…YUM!!!

  7. This looks fantastic! I may just have to give this a go.

  8. I would lick the screen right now, you know, if it wouldn’t taste like a computer screen and all.

    Yum!!

  9. Mmmm LOVE the dough ball idea! Going to have to do that next…it’s hard to get the right consistency if you don’t have a really ‘loose’ peanut butter…but perhaps this is an even BETTER option. :)

  10. OMG! You’re kidding. That looks freaking fantastic!

  11. Kate…it is MY birthday month, and I am going home and making these tonight for dinner…Thanks!

  12. I waaaannnntttt come ice cream!!!!!!

    Holy crap I need to get an ice cream maker for this summer. I know you posted this a few days ago, but I believe today is actually free cone day at Ben and Jerry’s! Random!

  13. You are the Ice (cream) Queen! Seriously, if I ever need an ice cream recipe or idea I hit up your blog because you have mastered the art of dairy free ice cream… and this one looks amazing. Sooooo is the arrowroot powder the key?? Mine never freeze right.

  14. [...] Ice cream making — challenging myself with some variations and the ever illusive gooey swirl a la Ben and [...]

  15. [...] I is for Ice Cream: Pick a favorite flavor and add a fun topping.  I kind of have a thing for ice cream if you haven’t figured it out yet.  Hard question!!!  My favorite so far is the caramelized banana with peanut butter cookie dough. [...]

  16. [...] some of you who have been reading the blog for a while now, I have been attempting to create a gooey ice cream a la Ben and Jerry’s to no avail.  It has been driving my [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

