Caramelized Banana Almond Coconut Milk Ice Cream

Hi Friends,

I took advantage of a my Monday snow day by having some fun in the kitchen. 

First up, I made a batch of Angela’s Detox Blonde Macaroons. I have been on a major coconut kick lately and these sounded outstanding.  I am hosting my research study group later today and wanted to make something healthy but sweet to share.

These turned out super good and were easy to make.  I was running low on maple syrup and ended up using 2/3 a cup instead on 3/4.  I used 2 tsp vanilla bean paste rather than vanilla extract and vanilla bean.  Art and I both enjoyed.  Hopefully the ladies will too!

Next, I asked Art for ice cream flavor suggestions.  He wanted something with caramel and almonds.  After I an internet search, I found this David Lebowitz recipe that I used for inspiration.  David’s blog is full of awesome dessert recipes if you ever need ideas.

Caramelized Banana Almond Coconut Milk Ice Cream

- 1 can full fat coconut milk

- 1 can low fat coconut milk

- 2 TB arrowroot powder

- 3/4 cup brown sugar

- 4 small ripe bananas, chopped

- pinch of salt

- 1 tsp vanilla bean paste

- 1/2 cup roasted almonds, finely chopped

- Dissolve arrowroot powder in 1/4 cup light coconut milk.  Set aside.

- Heat brown sugar and 1/4 cup light coconut milk in a sauce pan over medium high heat.  Stir until mixture starts to bubble.  Add bananas and salt.  Keep stirring until bananas are cooked, about 3-4 mins.  Remove from heat.

- Add remaining light coconut milk, full fat coconut milk, and vanilla bean paste.  Stir until combine.  Use immersion blender to break up banana chunks and create a smooth mixture.  (You could also use a blender)  Stir in arrowroot mixture.  Chill in refrigerator until completely cool.

- Mix according to ice cream maker directions.  With five mins of mixing time left, add chopped almonds and continue to mix.  Store in freezer.

Oh my!  I could tell before mixing that this was going to a thick, yummy batch of ice cream.  It  was close to spilling out of the Kitchen Aid during the mixing process.  Don’t know why it got so voluminous but I am not complaining.  The caramelized bananas provide awesome flavor.  I would maybe add 1/4 cup more almonds next time.  They provide nice crunch the midst of all the creaminess.  I am going to go out on a limb and say that this combination is my favorite batch I’ve made this winter.

Please share any ice cream flavor ideas you have with me! 

Happy Hump Day,

Kate

10 Responses

  1. oh my heavens. i need an ice crream maker NOW

  2. Omg I have to make this ice cream recipe. My bf has an ice cream maker but we always end up making froyo. Gotta spruce it up! :D

  3. You can keep up with this coconut kick, I love all of the goodies you are churning out (ha, pun).

  4. Oh wow. I could go for either of those desserts right now! :)
    What nice tropic flavors for the winter blahs!

  5. Ok, here’s the deal, I’m going to kidnap you and make you make ME ice cream- no ransomed. sorry. This ice cream sounds WONDERFUL! Super creative, too!

    My friend made those OSG mac’s on Monday and said they were the best things ever! I must make them now. :)

  6. My dear, anyone reading your post would be zooming down to view the recipe and pictures when you have a title like that!!!! Va-va-voom!!

  7. You are the ice cream queen!!

  8. […] (Y) Yummy Food You Make: Probably coconut milk ice cream.  I am partial to the Caramelized Banana Almond. […]

  9. […] This was perhaps my finest batch of ice cream to […]

  10. […] is for Ice Cream: Pick a favorite flavor and add a fun topping.  I kind of have a thing for ice cream if you haven’t figured it out yet.  Hard question!!!  My favorite so far is […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

