Cookies and Dip

Hi Friends,

Thanks for your comments on my last post about going gluten free.  Please know that I did quite a bit of research and reflection before I made the decision to give up gluten for at least six weeks.  I honestly do not think that I have Celiacs disease but a gluten intolerance.  Even if I do not notice any changes to my health, I thought the experience would be nice to have especially since I want to ultimately become a health counselor and could be advising people to do the same.  Again, please ask any questions that you may have.

So, Friday morning I had intentions for being productive and banging out a bunch of homework.   While at the gym I got the cooking bug and couldn’t my brain off of spinachy dill dip and gluten free cookies.  I think I could happily subside on dips and desserts :)

Spinach and Dill Dip

- 1 can cannellini beans rinse and drained

- 2 cloves garlic

- juice from half a lemon

- 3 TB olive oil

- 1 TB tahini

- 1 1/2 TB dried dill

- pinch of sea salt

- three big handfuls of spinach

- Place all ingredients thru sea salt in a food processor and process until smooth.  Add spinach and continue to food process until mixture reaches desired consistency.

Check out how green it is!  The dill is heavy in this mixture but I am ok with that.  I love dill!  It reminds me of spring for some reason.  I would love to add hard boiled eggs and some celery to this and make an egg salad creation.

I really wanted to give a gluten free baked good another try and recalled a recipe for peanut butter chocolate chip cookies I tried last year.  I, of corse, had to tinker with it a bit and came up with the following :) 

Gluten Free Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cookies

- 1/2 cup peanut butter

- 1/2 cup CocoAlmNut Butter

- 1/4 cup honey

- 1/2 cup brown sugar

- 1 egg

- 1/2 tsp baking soda

- 1/4 cup Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Flour

- 1 Endangered Species Dark Chocolate and Coca Nib bar, chopped

- Preheat oven to 350.

- In large bowl, combine the nut butters, honey, brown sugar, egg, and baking soda.  Stir in the gluten free flour.  Fold in the chopped chocolate bar.

- Drop by the spoonful onto cookie sheets and bake for 9 min.  Makes 15 medium/large cookies.

These turned out wonderfully!  Crispy outside but gooey in the center, just how I like my cookies.  The batter without the gluten free flour was a bit more liquidy than liked which I attribute to using honey instead of all sugar.  I decided to add the gluten free flour in an attempt to thicken it up a bit.  Art and I were both fans.  I am sharing some with family today so hopefully they will enjoy as well.

What are two food groups you could subside on?!

Have a lovely weekend!

Kate

9 Responses

  1. I thought I may have gluten intolerance for a while as well. My sis still thinks I have some form of it, but I havent changed my diet at all.
    I could definitely live off peanut butter! And bread! I love bread!

  2. Tgat dip looks amazing (along with the cookies). I am craving cookies now ha.

  3. That statement “I could live on dips and desserts” sometimes feels like it should be a mantra in The Smart Kitchen as well. [Although, to be honest, I’m a bit heavier on the dip side of life.] :) Yours looks amazing, and I love dill, too. I have the same springy feeling when I eat it…I wonder where that comes from?

  4. Dang, those cookies look anything but gluten free! They sound great!

  5. I could live on watermelon and avocado. Can’t wait for watermelons to come in season again!

    Happy Saturday to you!

  6. Those cookies look insanely decadent! Have a fantastic Saturday! :D

  7. These cookies look like the bomb.com omg YUM! I could live off of chocolate and peanut butter; two things I hardly ever get sick of! I can’t wait to hear about your adventures in going gluten free; I’ve had stomach issues and the likes like you have so I’ve been pondering eating a bit less gluten as well. Actually, when I eat gluten free things (like Udis bread!) I feel a million times better!

  8. i think it’s great to experiment and find what kind of diet works for you! good luck with that! hmm….i’m not sure what food groups i could subside on. i know i couldn’t live without cereal, that would be a tragedy.

  9. […] kale, asparagus and eggs scramble with gluten free toast and homemade spinach and dill dip […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

