Weekend Breakfast Catch Up

Hi Friends,

Oy!  We had spotty internet service this morning but it appears to be working again.  If you haven’t done so yet, check out all the baking my mom and I did over the weekend!  And I updated the link to Lindsay’s Scothabrownies.  I’ve got some breakfasts to catch up on!

Day 11 – Instant Oats with Lots of Stuff

My parents had instant oats.  Sorry mom and dad but instant oats always taste like lumpy paste to me.  Perhaps I don’t cook them correctly?  I microwaved 1/2 cup instant oats with 1 cup water and a pinch of salt.  I added a half a chopped honeycrisp, chopped dates, chopped walnuts, and vanilla almond syrup.  The toppings made the bowl and totally made up for the instant oat texture. 

Don’t you love the cute Christmas decorations!  The are little bells and have been a staple in our family christmas display. 

Day 12 – Classic Yogurt Bowl

Nothing can beat the simplicity of vanilla yogurt, blueberries, Quaker Toasted Oat Squares and a blob of chunky Skippy.  I buy the all natural peanut butter but a visit to the parents’ house wouldn’t be complete without some chunky Skippy.

Day 13 – Orange Spice Waffles

We got so much snow over the weekend that the city of St Paul decided to re-declare the snow emergency in order to clear all the snow.  This means an extra day of parking restrictions.  BOOOO!  Art went out and took care of moving my car again which meant I owed him waffles this morning.

I added some orange zest, cinnamon, and a dash of cloves to the gluten-free waffle mix this morning.  I simmered 1/3 cup cranberries, 1 small orange chopped into small pieces, cinnamon and water until the cranberries popped and cooked down a bit.  This was a nice flavor combination and tasted very Christmasy.

We found out early this morning that St Paul Schools are closed for the day.  The side streets didn’t get all get plowed so buses couldn’t pick up kids.  St Paul hardly ever cancels school so this is a pretty big deal.  Art was excited to get the day off.  After work this morning, I hope to start my Christmas shopping.  I feel so behind!

Later

Kate

6 Responses

  1. Those decorations are adorable, I wish they could hang around longer than December!

  2. Orange waffles and pancakes are my favorite. (followed by lemon nom nom nom).

    I am taking your challenge and having ten different breakfasts for when I am back home. One day-I hope I can make it a monthly challenge.

  3. orange waffles? YUMMM! <3

  4. Holy YUM – delicious breakfast pics!
    I wish I had a waffle maker…
    I really really wish I did ;)

  5. Wow- lots of snow, I bet! (yay and ew- too cold for me!)

    I love the looks of those orange spiced waffles! Delish combo!

  6. [...] know right away.  Eventually I mixed together some plain yogurt and  the left over bits of cranberry orange sauce from Monday’s waffles.  I topped with some Kashi Go Lean Crunch and ground flax.  I also [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

