Baking Day

Hi Friends,

I closed at the store yesterday which meant I had the morning to bake!  YEHAW!  My parents are hosting a holiday party this weekend and they asked me to make some cookies.  I jumped on the request and started researching fun holiday treats to share.   I made two yesterday

Vegan Mexican Hot Chocolate Snickerdoodles

I love the whole spicy chocolate thing so when I saw the recipe for these on the PPK (I forget how much I like this blog!) I knew I would have to give them a try.  I doubled the recipe and only added a small pinch of cayenne as I wasn’t sure how adventurous the palates of my parents friends would be.  I also added a chopped Mayan Gold bar from Black & Green as you can never have too much chocolate.

I think for the first time ever, I actually got as many cookies as the recipe said it would make.  I taste tested the cookie that was the most burnt around the edges and was very satisfied with how they turned out.  I would definitely add more cayenne the next time I make these and maybe a little orange zest too. 

Chocolate Coconut Truffles

I spotted these guys on Lori’s blog and followed her links to Alisa’s blog.  The recipe seemed so simple and yummy that I couldn’t not try it.  I subbed the peppermint extract for coconut and rolled the truffles in unsweetened flaked coconut.  The co-op had the vegan chocolate chips on sale so the recipe is also vegan. 

I made one and half batches and ended up with 30 truffles.  After rolling all the cookies, my desire to roll things into balls was a bit low.  Some of the truffles got a bit large in order to finish the task.  Again, for the purpose of quality control I samples one.  It was good :)  How can you go wrong with chocolate and coconut.

Breakfast Day 9 – Breakfast Double Apple Crisp

I sautéed a small chopped apple in some water, cinnamon and a squeeze of buckwheat honey.  Once it was soft, I mixed the last two spoonfuls of homemade applesauce into 1/2 cup of plain yogurt.  I layered the two and topped ground flax and cinnamon pecan granola.  A super yummy, dessert like breakfast :)

Day 10 – Coconut Chai Smoothie

I wanted to do something with the leftover coconut milk for breakfast this morning.  Enter the creamiest smoothie I have made to date.  Into the blender went one small frozen banana, 1/2 vanilla protein powder, three ice cubes, a little over 1/4 cup of coconut milk, cinnamon, ginger and cardamom.  I topped with some Go Lean Crunch and a pinch of unsweetened coconut.  YUMMMMMMMMM!  Hello medium chain fatty acid smoothie of deliciousness.  If you like coconut and chai spice, I highly recommend this combo.

I am about to hit up the gym and head down to my parents.  I talked to my mom this morning and they are predicting a big old snow storm for the weekend so the party may be much smaller than originally anticipated.  Oh well!  I am excited to finish my baking and chill out with them for a few days.

Later,

Kate

9 Responses

  1. Those looks delicious!! Nice twist on the Snickerdoodles there. This year was the first time for me even having the original so it’d be cool to try to hot chocolate version. :P They’ll both be gobbled up at the party I’m sure!

  2. Mmm the recipes look delicious! I love the idea of spicy chocolate. I have never had a cookie like that, maybe I should give them a try! And truffles are like the best cookie idea ever. Everyone likes them, and there are endless ideas!

  3. Chocolate coconut truffles!!! I think I need those. Right now.

  4. Yep 6-12 inches for the southern metro/southern MN starting late late tonight! Eek!!! I will be staying home and baking all day to keep warm :)

    I love the idea of cayenne in cookies — Jason would love those. I’m going to check out PPK now, I’ve never heard of it!

  5. chocolate and i have a very serious relationship. spicy chocolate, specifically. (Lindt Chili = heaven.) have an awesome time at your party! :)

  6. Love baking day! Wish I was there to try the delicious goods!

    Have a great weekend girl!

  7. Smoothie success….love it. I am making homemade coconut milk the MINUTE I finish this comment because of you.

    And with my cookie swap last week, not ONE snickerdoodles people brought was as round and puffy (and thus a little soft) in the middle like yours….what’s the secret?

  8. Oh my wordddd, that looks AMAZING–all of it!

  9. So glad you liked the recipe, and wow, what a line-up! I will have to try those snickerdoodles. Yum!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

