A Kate Klassic and a Winner

Hi Friends,

I know you are all anxiously waiting to hear who won the CSN giveaway so I won’t delay:  Emily

I used one of those random.org things but can’t figure out how to transport it to the blog.  Emily, I will send you an email to get details taken care of.

Art had to work this evening and I don’t have class which left me to cook dinner for myself.  Two weeks ago it was weird to cook for two.  Now it seems strange cooking dinner for one! 

I went with an easy dish I used to make all the time the year after I graduated from college.  It is cheap, satisfying and nutritious.  I lived with three other women and we  all make some version of the following.  I think my blend of ingredients always tasted the best! 

Klassic Kate Bowl of Yum

- 1 cup broccoli florets

- 1/3 cup chopped broccoli stems

- 1 chopped small tomato

- 1/2 cup cooked chick peas

- 1/2 cup cooked quinoa

- 2 pinches of oregano

- 1 pinch cracked red pepper

- 1 TB crumbled feta cheese

- Put broccoli florets and stems in a skillet over medium high heat with a bit of water.  Allow the broccoli to “steam” until soft.  Add tomato and cook until it gets a bit soft and starts to break down.  Add chick peas and quinoa to the pan.  Season with oregano and cracked red pepper and stir well.  Once mixture is uniformly hot, remove from heat and top with feta cheese.

 Insanely simple, right?!  It seems wrong to write a recipe for that.  I used to use couscous instead of quinoa as I didn’t know what quinoa was until a year ago.  My housemate Allison was the first to add the chopped broccoli stems which grossed us out at first.  Her response “They don’t change your poop at all so stop your freaking out.”  Any nutritionist out there know what the benefit/drawback is to eating the broccoli stems?

I am going to enjoy a quiet evening of blog reading and television.  Hope you had a lovely start to your week!

Kate

10 Responses

  1. Love that dinner!! So simple and yet so nutritious! I will have to cook one of those up soon. BTW, huge quinoa lover over here!

  2. Ahhh, SO excited! :)
    I love the sounds of that bowl! I need to do that next time I’m cooking for myself.

  3. This looks delicious! I have quinoa in my pantry and I never use it. I am going to try this out! =)

  4. I grew up in MN! Just left a comment on Holly’s post; saw that you two had brekkie. I went to college in St Paul, wow, trip down memory lane. I live in San Diego now, never could hack that weather again, but keep in touch, I am all about keeping it real w/ girls from my homeland :)

  5. Kate that meal looks good! No idea about the broccoli stems, only that I eat them!

  6. Haha, I have many “bowls of yum”! But your version looks really yummy; I loveee quinoa and broccoli. I always eat broccoli stems!

  7. Love the bowl! I study nutrition and haven’t heard anything for/against eating the stems..they just said to eat the whole thing! :P

  8. Broccoli stems are honestly my favorite part! I hoard those! hehe- hope they’re good for me.

    Love the combo of “superfoods” and really, simple is better sometimes! But yum, that looks good.

  9. I asked the same question about broccoli to Gina from CandidRD, and she said that the crowns have more vitamin C and stuff…but hey, why waste the stems when they taste good? Not everything has to be a nutritional powerhouse. ;)

  10. Try this wonderful scone recipe with quinoa!
    Raspberry Almond Scones with Quinoa
    Ingredients
    1/2 cup milk
    1 egg
    1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    1/4 cup agave
    1 1/2 cup flour
    1/2 cup quinoa, cooked and cooled
    2 teaspoons baking powder
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    1/4 tsp baking powder
    6 tablespoons ALMOND butter
    1 cup raspberries, mashed up
    EASY: mix milk, egg, vanilla and agave (honey) in one bowl
    the flour and quinoa, salt and bp in another…
    mix together
    then “cut-in” almond butter…can be chunky. Believe me, it’s good…
    then fold in raspberries.
    Mix into a big round disk
    Bake for 10 at 375
    Cut into 8 wedges, barely separate (it will be soft and doughy still)
    Bake for 10 minutes more

    Read more at Suite101: Strawberry Scones with Quinoa: How to Prepare Quinoa for Baking This Healthy Tea Time Treat http://www.suite101.com/content/strawberry-scones-with-quinoa-a103075#ixzz10GRtjaEO

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

