You guys rock!

Hi Friends,

Thank you all so much for the thoughts you shared in yesterday’s posts.  It is comforting to read that some of you are going thru the same thing too.  Here are some bits of wisdom that I found thought-provoking:

 – u kind of learn to let it go and then BAM it hits you. its like a welcomed slap in the face lol.. i guess thats what happens when u clear ur mind.. u allow room for thoughts/new ideas/channels etcKelsey

- It’s never too late to change your mind or try something newSarah

- Sometimes we just gotta do what we don’t want to do until we have an opportunity to run with our dreams.Shawnee

- I think it’s exciting there are so many things you want to do! i’m sure when you begin pursuing one it will become more clear if that’s what you want to do or not- and good thing we can always change our minds later on and try something new! – Simply Life

- It is a horrible American lie that you have to do “something that you love” or “something that defines you.” You are not what you do. You are HOW you do what you do. Work is WORK. It should be 25% AWESOME 50%okay and 25% HARD. ALmost all people I know it was a gradual progression, myself included, and REALLY ABOUT TIMING. WHO you know, WHEN. So, be open and the best advice is, have a mentor you talk to about these things frequently…Special K

So with all of that, I am going to keep chill and wander down my path that until I stumble across the right opportunity.  I’m also celebrating know that I have crossed department director at a non-profit off my list of careers.  And Kelly, if I do open bakery, I am comforted to know that you would be my best customer :) 

I enjoyed yet another salad tonight featuring my mom’s sesame chicken.

Today’s mix featured spinach, broccoli, quinoa, roasted red pepper, feta, parsley, a blob of spinach dip and some balsamic.  Again, I don’t get excited by meat very often but this chicken does it for me.  I thought I’d share the recipe as it is so good.  It makes a big batch and has become a staple at family parties.  What is your favorite family recipe?

Mom’s Sesame Chicken

- 1/2 cup Olive Oil

- 1/2 cup White Wine

- 1/2 cup soy sauce

- 2 TB grated ginger

- 1 TB dry mustard

- 1 tsp freshly ground black pepper

- 4 cloves crushed garlic

- 1/2 cup chopped green onion

- 3 TB sesame seeds

- 2 whole chickens quartered (Mom uses chicken breasts only)

- Combine all ingredients but chicken in a large bowl and stir well.  Place chicken in a large ziplock bag (you will probably need two) and pour in marinade.  Seal bags and marinate in the refrigerator for 4-8 hours.  Cook chicken over medium hot coals for 15-20 min. 

I am currently working on this little dessert bowl of goodness.

 

I mixed a blob of plain of Oikos with some cocoa powder and stuck it in the freezer while I ate dindin, about 20 min.  Post dinner, I drizzled on a little Nutella and some chopped hazelnuts.  Yum!  Desserty but not too sweet.  The yogurt was just starting to freeze and take on a different texture.  I think it would have been perfect after another 20 min. 

Take care friends,

Kate

8 Responses

  1. uggggh this is what i get for remarking yours as “unread” because i actually wanted time to go back and read and commennnt.

    we need a date kate. what does the rest of your week look like?

  2. It really is a case of stumbling across things I think. In some senses it’s good to not know where you are heading, to keep an open mind and discover new prospects you never even considered.

    Yummy looking salad – my favourite family (or should I say my mum’s) recipe is traditional Sunday roast….very British :-)

    Sarah x

  3. I really liked Special K’s advice. It’s so true. We always expect to be too comfortable with work…it’s called work for a reason. We should enjoy it, but there should be some “work” involved too. That said, I do wish you the best!

    My favorite family recipe…probably chicken porridge or black sesame seed porridge! :-)

  4. sesame chicken is just fabulous – your mom’s recipe sounds so good :) oh and I just love combining cocoa powder and okios! so delicious for dessert.

  5. Awe, I feel special knowing someone thought my advice was wisdom! I am glad you could take something away from my two cents. Dinner and dessert look fabulous.

  6. Everyone made brilliant points! I agree — be calm but confident, adventuresome but grounded. Think about what motivates you. I.e., if selling things does not motivate you, you shouldn’t go in that direction. I am a little lost right now too. I think it’s a 20s thing. :)

    Love the chicken!

  7. I love your blog, I just stumbled upon it and have been drooling over your recipes! I can’t wait to see what else you have in store!!

  8. Great to know you’re feeling better about this situation – don’t feel like you have to figure it all our now because I’m pretty sure most people never really know what they want to do when they grow up (even those who have been in a job for 10+ years) :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

