Food Win!

Hi Friends,

It has been a lovely day!  After putting in my time at work this morning, I came home to finish up ice cream making, yoga class, and making black bean burgers with Art.  (more on the burger tomorrow.  I can only put so much delish chow in one post!)  Foods, friends and fitness are always good.

On to the most important business…..

Coconut Mint Chip Ice Cream

- 1 can Light Coconut Milk

- 1 can Regular Coconut Milk

- 1 1/2 TBs arrowroot powder

- 3/4 cup organic sugar

- heaping 1/4 cup chopped fresh mint

- splash of vanilla

- 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

- Combine 1/4 cup regular coconut milk and arrowroot powder and mix well. 

- Bring remaining coconut milk, light coconut milk, and sugar to a boil stirring constantly.

- Remove from heat and add arrowroot mixture.  Stir until the mixture begins to thicken slightly.  Stir in chopped mint and vanilla extract.

- Place in refrigerator and chill until cool.  Mix according to ice cream maker directions.  Add chocolate chips with 5 min of mix time left.

Amazing!  This recipe is loosely based on The Vegan Scoop cookbook that I browsed while at B&N yesterday. It came out very creamy and refreshing.  I grew the mint myself which makes me über proud of this creation.  The recipe definitely makes more than a pint.  Art gave it two thumbs up and asked to keep an extra bowl in his freezer for tomorrow. I think I am going to have lots of fun with my new toy :)

Breakfast – Day 25

Strawberry Banana Smoothie

After my smoothie fail yesterday, I wanted a combination I could count on.  Enter the classic Strawberry Banana Smoothie.  Into the blender went 2/3 cup frozen strawberries, 1/2 a frozen banana, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup Almond Breeze, 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder and 3 ice cubes.  Enjoyed with a little Kashi Heart to Heart on top.  Sometimes classics are the way to go.

Today was the last day of school for the kiddos so I get to sleep in a bit tomorrow.  (Who am I kidding I’ll probably wake up at 6 rather than 4:50)  I have summer staff training in the morning followed by the coffee shop in the afternoon.  Full day with out a work out break in the middle :(  Oh!  Maybe if I wake up early I could do it then…..  Update you on this tomorrow :)

Later,

Kate

5 Responses

  1. YUMO on the ice cream. I need to try that one of these days!

  2. That sounds really yummy, and looks good too. Hehe and I like your 3 Fs – food, family and fitness :-)

    xxx

  3. I just got some xanthan gum in the mail and boy! It is whipping up a little German frilee over here. Love it in protein based baked and whipped goods…
    Try it with yogurt, too!

  4. What are you talking about not being creative in the kitchen…you definitely are! That ice cream looks fab!

  5. [...] totally missed the Glee finally so my plans of the evening include ice cream, Glee and blog reading.  Sigh of [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

