From Rain to Snow

Hi friends,

It is snowing today and it is making me crabby!  After two weeks of 30ish degree weather, I was antsy for spring.  No dice.  After living in MN for 27 years, you’d think I would have learned my lesson.  Sigh.

As I mentioned earlier, we discovered that my Grammy has been subsiding on Special K 100 calorie bars (and I’m pretty sure a fair amount of scotch too).  After reading Holly’s post about the crazy preservatives in Special K products, I got a nervous for the state of Grammy’s internal organs.  I didn’t have to work this afternoon so I did a little baking and created a healthier granola bar for my dear Grammy.  I tried a nibble and enjoyed the taste and texture.  Hopefully they will compliment her evening scotch nicely :)

Grammy Bars

- 1/3 cup canola oil

-1/3 cup honey

-1/2 cup peanut butter

- 1 egg

- splash of vanilla

- 1 3/4 cup rolled oats

- 3 TBS chia seeds

-2 TBS ground flax

- 2 TBS whole wheat flour

- 30 grams Vanilla Spiru-Tein Powder

- 3/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

- Grease a 9×13 pan and preheat oven to 350.  Microwave canola oil, honey and peanut butter for 30 seconds and stir until combine.  Mix in egg and vanilla.  Stir in remaining ingredients until well combined.  Press mixture into the bottom of the 9×13 pan.  Bake until golden brown, about 10 min.  Package and send to Grammy.

The eats for the day!

Breakfast – 1/2 cup plain Oikos, 1 cup papaya chunks, 1 TB ground flax, 1/2 cup Nature’s Path Flax Flakes, chopped almonds, and a few big shakes of ground ginger.  The photo does not do this combo justice!  Very flavorful.

Lunch – a bowl of Chicken Sausage, White Bean and Kale soup that I made with the BF on Saturday night.  I topped the soup with some feta and sriracha and grabbed a handful of Food Should Taste Good Olive chips to accompany it.  I love a good pot of soup in the winter.  Left overs make me happy :)

Dinner – A spinach and veggie salad topped with Gaelo’s Ginger Wasabi Miso Dressing.  I made another batch hemp protein pancakes tonight a got a little creative with my topping.  I peeled a blood orange and let it simmer with 1/3 cup of water while I was preparing the rest of my dinner.  When the pancakes were done cooking, I added a few shakes of cinnamon and went to town with my potato masher.  Yum!  And check out that lovely color. 

Alright, hope you all are staying warm!

Kate

7 Responses

  1. THOSE BARS LOOK AWESOME! and the ingredients list is awesome! thanks for revamping a recipe for a healthier bar – these are definitely bookmarked :)

  2. I know about snow turning to rain! Same thing happening here :(
    Awesome eats lady…love it .
    Your grammy bars and comments made me smile…nothing like some scotch to add perspective to life :)

  3. Boo Special K! I have a friend who is considering the Special K diet – I must pass this preservative info along to her!

    Oh, leftovers make me so happy, too!

  4. So nice of you to make these bars and have her eating real food!

  5. Yum! Those bars look awesome! I make a batch of granola bars every week for our lunches. And I can’t wait to bid on your cookies tomorrow!

  6. Love reading! Check out mine :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

