Rainy Day

Hi friends,

It is 35 degrees and raining in good old Minneapolis today.  I had to check my calendar just to varify that it is indeed January 23rd and not March 23rd.  I have been quite productive and did laundry, went to the gym, ran to my new fav Knollwood Super Target (thanks Erika!) and made some uber tasty chow.

Tropical Smoothie in a Bowl – blend 1/2 a frozen banana, 1/2 cup frozen pineapple, 1 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze, 1 TB ground flax, 3 ice cubes and a few generous shakes on ground ginger.  Topped with 1/2 cup Nature’s Path Multibran Flax Flakes and 1TB unsweetened coconut.  Really good!  In a move of food blogger dorkiness, I almost made my morning smoothie with frozen red raspberries rather so there would be more color contrast between the cereal and the smoothie.  Glad I didn’t as the pineapple, banana, and ginger combo was divine!

Lunch – Salad with Galeo’s Ginger Wasabi Miso dressing.  1/4 cup TJ’s instant Steel Cut Oats cooked with 1 cup water, 1 1/2 TB reduced fat feta cheese, and sriracha.  Topped with one very happy egg and one egg white over easy and some salsa verde.  If you have not tried the cheesy oat combo, DO IT NOW!  You won’t regret.

In an attempt to win a Vita-Mix from the lovely Katie, I made this gem for dessert

Combining the Banana Butter and Melted Banana Trick recipes, I created Choco Banana Love!  I microwave a tablespoon of PB with half a banana for about 30 seconds.  I stirred in 1 tsp of coco powder and spread it on half a whole wheat pita.  Desserty sandwich of love!  Katie’s recipes have yet to leave me disappointed.  Fingers crossed I win the Vita Mix.

Ok, time for a Saturday afternoon nap.  Meeting up with some friends for bowling some bowling tonight.  Gotta rest up!

Kate

3 Responses

  1. Thanks for the hollla! ;) That Target definitely IS my favorite! I always feel like it’s so clean, lol. AND they have the Catalina coupon machines (the one that spits a coupon out with your receipt based on your purchases) – lol I’m all about saving money. :D

    I told Anne (the spin teacher) that I have some guests comin’ next weekend – she was excited! Meee too!

  2. This is all so great. I so enjoy your blog girl. Kate, thanks for the beautiful comment u left me too….means a ton :)

  3. Your brekkie in a bowl looks AMAZING!!
    Oh, and seven entries comin your way :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

