Research and Vegan Thursday

Hi Friends,

Thank you guys for your supportive comments on my post yesterday about the Biggest Loser.  It meant a lot!  It is so important to remember that we all just need to be our authentic selves. 

Cassie’s comment got me curious about how safe it is really lose that kind of weight in a week.  I tried multiple searches and did not find much from credible sources.  I got a lot of results from crazy supplements or detox sites.  Gross.  This article probably comes from the most trustworthy source.  Again, it doesn’t talk much about the safety but….  If anyone knows anything about this, please share!

The lovely Katie posed a Vegan Thursday challenge over on her blog.  That I decided to give a whirl.  Since I quit my job, I have less money which has kind of naturally lead to make more vegan choices.  A 75cent can of beans can feed me thee times where as a dollar pouch  of tuna will only feed me once!  I am pleased to say that I was able to eat vegan with the exception of my latte at which I accidently made with skim.  Oh well!

Vegan Oats!  1/4 cup TJ instant Irish Oats, 1 cup water, 1/2 banana, cinnamon, vanilla, ground flax and chia seeds, 1 TB hemp protein powder (first time using it.  it’s green!), and frozen cranberries.  Topped with some Smuckers Natural Chunky PB.

Vegan Black Bean Fajita Saute!  onions, bell pepper strips, and black beans sauteed in olive oil, chili powder and cumin on top of a bed of spinach.  Topped with avocado, salsa and sriracha and served with half a lightly toasted pita (which I was pleased to discover was vegan too!)

Vegan Sauteed Veggies!  Sauteed a bunch of eggplant, mushrooms, onions, and kale and topped it off with a giant blob of humus.  I served the veggies with some Food Should Taste Good sweet potato chips. 

Ok, I just got really sleepy.  I took a gentle yoga class at the gym tonight.  I think it relaxed more than I expected.

Kate

5 Responses

  1. Your dinner looks delicious!
    LOL someone fell asleep in a gentle yoga class I took once! :)

  2. Thanks for the shout-out!

    Totally feel ya on beans being a frugal grocery choice. I just went grocery shopping yesterday, and as I was perusing the beans, it suddenly hit me that my bean consumption has gone way up since I a) started spending money more wisely and b) started living a healthier lifestyle.

    Yay for the magical fruit!

  3. Beans are such a great source of nutrition! I keep trying to eat more of them.

  4. YUM! What fabulous vegan eats, everything looks so bright and delicious. I’m loving your blog. :-)

  5. I love your pictures. I know what you mean – vegan or vegetarian options are definitely cheaper. But nevertheless I am not vegan or vegetarian :)
    But I like that stuff definitely…have a neat day Kate.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

