I can measure!

Hi Friends,

I’ve been bored lately, very bored.  I used to work about 50 hours a week, go to grad school part-time, and manage to have a decentish social life.  Now I am making coffee about 20 hours a week and am on break from school until February.  That leaves a lot time to fill.  AH!  I’ve been good about getting to the gym and reading and what not but I am a bit bored!  Any suggestions for boredom projects?

I decided to bake some cookies to take to work tomorrow to fill some time and actually measure so I can share the recipe with you all.  I think I did a pretty decent job :)  I had 2TB  of butter in the fridge that I threw in the dough ’cause sometimes random food like that bothers me.  I really wanted to add chopped roasted hazelnuts but the co-op I stopped was out.  I specifically stopped at a co-op over a grocery store as I thought they would be more like to have the hazelnuts.  grrrrr!  They taste fudgy and delicious.  I MUST take them to work tomorrow or I will surely eat them all :)

Mocha Cookies

 

1/2 cup plus 2TB butter

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 egg

2 cap fulls vanilla

1 1/2 cup flour

1/3 cup cocoa powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

2 1/2 packets of Nescafe Instant Coffee

3/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

 

Preheat oven to 350.  Cream together softened butter and sugars.  Add egg and vanilla and mix well.  Stir in the remaining dry  ingredients until all in combined.  Flood in chocolate chips.

Drop a heaping tablespoon of dough onto a cookie sheet.  Bake for 8ish min.  Makes approximately 22 cookies.

 

 

Tonight for dindin I made some Heather inspired food.  I have been super curious about her protein pancakes.  I was a bit doubtful that they would work until I whipped up a batch tonight.  I only used 4 egg whites and 20 grams of vanilla protein powder and was pretty pleased with the results.  It made four large, thin pancakes.  I topped them with frozen blueberries I warmed in microwave and some agave.  I do think they would go well with ice cream, Heather style protein ice cream course ;)

I massage some kale, leaf lettuce, onions and a few dried cranberries with some tahini and honey to accompany the pancakes.  It was decent.  I found a blob of tahini hiding at the bottom of the bowl about half way thru the salad so I remassaged.  I enjoyed it much more after massage number 2!

Ok friends, I am going to chill with the roomie tonight and watch the Biggest Loser! 

Kate

5 Responses

  1. Protein pancakes and tahini massaged greens. Sounds like my kind of dinner, and yes, the pancakes go very well with protein ice-cream.

    Your cookies look delish. I’m sure your fellow baristas will love. :)

  2. Ughhhh… I NEED to make these dang pancakes! ASAP!

  3. OMG Kate…pancakes + salad?! Effing awesome. Totally something I would go for.

    Yay for random dinners!

  4. I love the random dinner combo! Lets meet for a drink before you go back to school :)

  5. I have never made protein pancakes before but these look just like the real thing! Thanks for the idea. I am going to have to try it out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

