The Give Away I Really Wanna Win

Hi Friends,

How was everyone’s weekend?  Mine was lovely. 

After what I think was a kick ass interview yesterday, I hung out with date boy (when do you think I should started referring to him as a bf?).  We went to Namaste Cafe for some delish Indian food.  What a cute place with really tasty food.  The restaurant is in a remodeled duplex and very homey/cozy.  We enjoyed some mamacha for an appetizer and each ordered a curry.  I got the cabbage, pea and potato curry.  The spice blend was perfection.  Enough back heat to keep it interesting.  Date boy got the hot and tangy lamb.  He loved it and proceeded to eat all of it even tho it was so hot that he was sweating by the end of the meal.  If you are looking for good Indian food in Minneapolis, I recommend Namaste.

I came home from a seven hour shift at the coffee shop this afternoon fully intending to make split pea soup but was too freaking tired to do so.  I put a mix of broccoli, carrots, and tempeh in the oven to do their roasty thing while I whipped up some of these.

Spice Babies!  I really, really wanna win the lovely Katie’s Artisana give away!  I get six extra entries for making and blogging about a Chocolate Covered Recipe.  I have been loving all the raw babies she has been making so I put a little spin on it and made these spicy gals.  The portions below made three (yup, I ate one before it could be photographed!) bars approximately two inches long. 

Spice Babies

- 6 large dates

- heaping 1/4 cup almonds

- 1/4 tsp ground ginger

- 1/2 tsp cinnamon

- 1/8 tsp ground cloves.

- chop almonds in the food processor until they reach desired consistency and remove.  place pitted dates and spices in food processor until finely chopped.  add almond back in the bowl of the food processor and combine everything.  form the dough into desired shapes.

  

Dindin ended being pretty tasty too.  I made the love tahini, tamari, sriracha snauce which made the meal.

I am off to watch the Vikings game.  This is the time of the year when I start paying attention to football.  I am starting to think the Vikes may have a chance at making a decent play off run this year.  I probably jinxed it in typing that.  Oh well!  Go Vikes!

Later,

Kate

3 Responses

  1. Technically, you get 7 entries, cuz you mentioned the giveaway too ;).

    You rock :)

  2. […] Kate formed some spicy Babies, adding ginger and cloves […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

