I’m back!

Hi Friends,

It feels so good to blog again!  It doesn’t seem like I have been doing this for too long but I have so gotten used to it and missed it.  I missed photographing my food, sharing my day with you, and reading about yours.  After Thanksgiving, moving and starting work at the coffee shop — I have returned!  Internet will be installed at my new house on Wednesday which will make the blogging that much easier.

 

This morning I got up at the butt crack of dawn and hauled my tired bum into the coffee shop where I have started working.  I made some oats and tea to enjoy on my way to work.   In the mix: 1/3 cup oats, 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1/2 cup water, 2 tsp of chia seeds, 1/2 a banana, vanilla and ground flax.  Topped it off with 1/2 a chopped apple, cinnamon and a blob of pb.

 

Post coffee shop shift, I came home, made lunch and did some baking/food processing in my new, awesome kitchen.

For lunch a made a yummy bowl of brown rice, black beans, spinach, steamed broccoli, avocado, salsa and a Holy Land Deli jalapeno humus.  It was such a novelty to prepare lunch in my kitchen.  I loved it!

 

Baking project number one was granola bars for my Grammy.  We discovered that she was living on Special K granola bars while my Grandad is in the nursing home recovering from surgery.  I looked at the ingredients on the box of bars and knew that Grammy was not getting adequate nutrition from  them.  I knew I could come up with something more nutritious.  I mixed up pb, oats, puffed rice cereal, honey, canola oil, protein powder, ground flax, dried cranberries and chocolate chunks and stuck it in the oven.  I wish I measure thing when I cook so I could share more recipes.  I just dump and see what I end up with!

 

Taking a cue from Miss Katie I busted out the food processor and whipped up some Peanut Butter Cup Babies!  In the mix: 10 large dates, heaping 1/2 cup roasted peanuts, 3 TB cocoa powder and a splash of vanilla.  Super good!  (Check out the cute, new plates.  They were on sale at the Herbergs in my hometown!)

 

I hit the gym today for the first time in a week!  Between being sick, Thanksgiving and moving, I have totally slacked in the exercise department.  Today was get back on track day.  It felt so good! 

 

Ok, I am bumming free internet at the library.  Time to go home and make some dindin.

 

Later!

Kate

3 Responses

  1. OOh I like the plates… and what’s on them ;)

  2. Love those plates! So cute :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

