Weekend Sugar Binge

Hi friends,

I had an interesting weekend.  I had fun but did not do the best job of eating well.  Someone brought Halloween sprinkle donughts to work on Saturday.  Since I was crabby that I was there, I decided to eat two of them.  After I left work, I decided to just get a big Greek Salad for lunch.  It was delicious but after I was done I snarfed a huge bowl of granola and I blobbed peanut butter and coconut on.  Then I finished the last half of chocolate bar with more peanut butter slathered on top of it.  So  not necessary and I wasn’t even hungry.  Later that night, I had a date and went out for Ethiopian food and had a bunch of drinks.   I woke up feeling super gross and headachey.  I don’t know why I still do that.  As I’m doing it I know that I will feel crappy the next day.  One day at a time I guess.  Date was very good, btw :)

 

So I made sure to hit the gym today and eat well and drink water and all that fun stuff.  I am probably going to go to bed early too tonight to get a good start to the week.  This afternoon was dedicated to cooking!  I made some balsamic oregano roasted tofu  for sandwiches and salads this week.

roasted tofu

roasted tofu

 

I had being reading about the Fudge Babies on Chocolate Covered Katie that I decided to make some of my own.  I have two boxes of mint tea right now which is bugging me so I decided to put it to use.

MinTea Fudge Babies

1 cup walnuts

1 1/3 cup dates

3 TB coco powder

1 packet Amazing Grass Chocolate powder

splash on vanilla

the contents of two bags of herbal mint tea

Chopped the walnuts in a food processor until they are finely chopped.  Remove from processor bowl.  Mix the remaining ingredients in the processor until combine.  Add the chopped walnuts back and mix until a sticky mass is formed.  Roll into individual truffles or bars.

MinTea Fudge Babies

MinTea Fudge Babies

I had one after dindin tonight.  YUM!  Chocolatey, natural goodness. 

 

For dinner I threw together a squash, kale and black bean soup.  It was pretty tasty but the finish product would not photograph well.  After 10 blurry tries, I gave up :(  I didn’t really measure ingredients but I sauted onion, a jalapeno, garlic, half a red and green pepper.  I then added butter nut squash, 4 cups of water, cumin, red pepper, chili powder and cinnamon and let it simmer for awhile.  After the squash got soft, I took the potato masher to some of the squash but left a few chunks.  I added 3 leaves of chopped kale, a can of black beans, and a  bit of leftover frozen corn.  It was pretty tasty and filling. 

indgredients chopped and ready to go

ingredients chopped and ready to go

soup and dark rye toast

soup and dark rye toast

I dotted some hot sauce on top and enjoyed with a piece of dark rye.
 
 
So tired.  It should be a busy week ending in a big community Halloween party that I am responsible for planning.  I have anxiety for it already.  boooo!
 
Later
Kate
2 Responses

  1. Aww thanks Kate!! I’ll definitely give you a shout out when I do a fudge baby tribute post. Your version sounds delicious :) :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

